You may come across web browsers in the 3D world. They look like this:
You will initially see two options: public and personal browsing.
Selecting the personal browser option requires little explanation, and everything you do in this browser mode is not shared with other users. When you activate it, although other player’s avatars may be standing next to you, only you can see and hear content you are browsing.
On the browser’s toolbar, you will see the following from left to right:
Back/forward history buttons, address bar, GO button, a button that loads the last publicly shared page, a refresh button, a fullscreen button and an exit browsing button, which takes you back to the initial public/personal browsing choice screen.
Selecting the public browser option is different. For a start, when your cursor is over the browser it will now have a small yellow exclamation point to warn you that you are in public browsing mode.
Public browsers have to be used in a specific way if you wish for a web page you are viewing/loading to be broadcast to other users in the 3D world. You must have selected the public browsing mode, and then loaded a URL via the address bar (by clicking GO) for the sharing to begin. Clicking links on webpages whilst in public web browsing mode will not cause the newly visited pages to be sent to other users. Sharing only takes place via the address bar and GO button. The page icon in the top bar will load up the last shared page (if any), so you don’t need to remain in-world for other users to get your link.
When you or another user send a page via the address bar and GO button, it is sent to that specific browser in the 3D world. If a user is standing at a different browser, they will not see your content.
A web browser might have the choices to be resized, moved and deleted. You will need to enable laser for this (hit L).
There are also flat full screen browsers, and these are activated automatically when you select various interactive media objects (if any are available). These media objects do not have any public browsing/sharing effects.
If a service loaded via the web browser supports simultaneous multi-user editing, such as Google Drive, or whiteboard services as shown below, then it doesn’t matter whether the link is loaded via public browser or individually via private browser mode — users will see each others work and effects.